Jimmy Deenihan TD, offically opens the MacDonagh Heritage Centre

On the anniversary of the Thomas MacDonagh’s execution, May 3rd, Cloughjordan’s new Heritage Centre was officially opened by Minister Jimmy Deenihan. The centre, which includes a new library, is dedicated to Thomas MacDonagh, Tipperary’s signatory of the Irish Proclamation. The Cloughjordan Heritage Group in association with the Cloughjordan Community Development Committee led the development of the project while Nenagh contractors, Pinnacle Construction, carried out the work.

This Centre includes a building in which the MacDonagh family resided after they moved to Cloughjordan from Cloghan, Co. Offaly. The family made the move when Thomas’s parents were appointed teachers in the newly opened Catholic Primary school. Thomas MacDonagh went on to become one of the central figures of the 1916 rising, being stationed at Jacobs Biscuit factory during the Rising and losing his life after being court martialled on surrender.

The complex showcases Cloughjordan’s rich culture, heritage and history and is open six days a week (closed Mondays). The North Tipperary LEADER Partnership has given invaluable support for the village by significantly grant aiding the project. Local Councillor Jim Casey said the community has to come up with a sum of up to €80,000 in matching funding, but he expressed confidence that this could be achieved. Councillor Casey outlined how the germ for this project emanated from a needs assessment study on Cloughjordan, commissioned some years ago by North Tipperary County Council.


You might also enjoy From Our Blog

Share This Article


About The Author